Cone Pevehouse Young Neurosurgeon Award

EligbilityYoung Neurosurgeon (Not in Residency)
CriteriaSocioeconomic topic. The award will be chosen based on originality, merit, innovation, and scientific process. The resident must have contributed a significant contribution to the abstract.
CommitteeThe winning abstract is chosen by the AANS annual meeting Program Committee.
FrequencyAnnually and presented at the AANS meeting. If it is decided that there is no abstract that deserves the award that year, the ad hoc committee may choose not to present the award that year.
Previous Recipients
2004Ravish V. Patwardhan, MD
2005Sarah I. Woodrow, MD
2006Ming-Yuan Tseng, MD
2007John A. Cowan, Jr., MD
2008Shearwood McClellend, III, MD
2009Jayant Jagannathan, MD
2010Nicholas F. Marko, MD
2011Mary I. Huang, MS
2012Brian Hoh, MD
2013Jason Sheehan, MD PhD
2014Yakov Gologorsky, MD
2015Gabriel Zada, MD
2016Maya Babu, MD
2017Melanie Hayden Gephart, MD

Through the AANS and CNS, a variety of socioeconomic awards are offered to the membership. Winners are selected from the abstract submissions to each of the respective meetings. There is no separate application process. A summary of each award is provided below.

AANS Sponsored

Cone Pevehouse Young Neurosurgeon Award

Robert Florin Resident Award

CNS Sponsored

Julius Goodman Resident Award

Sam Hassenbusch Young Neurosurgeon Award

CSNS Sponsored

Leibrock Lifetime Achievement Award

Randall W. Smith Award for Meritorious Service to the Council of State Neurosurgical Societies